Every driver wants to find the most affordable car insurance coverage they can, but sometimes buying the legal minimum amount of coverage can become even more expensive for you in the event of a serious accident. Learn more about the types of coverage that are required under South Carolina law, and consider what the best amount of coverage would be for you based on your financial situation.
Coverage required under South Carolina law
All drivers must carry coverage for bodily injuries in the amount of at least $25,000 for injuries or death caused to a single person, and $50,000 total for all persons injured in an accident. This amount covers the cost of the injured person’s medical expenses, pain and suffering, and lost income attributable to the accident. Medical expenses can easily climb above $25,000, especially for someone who incurs serious injuries requiring rehabilitation or a prolonged hospital stay. While your insurance company will provide legal representation to you if the injured driver sues you for damages, if the award of damages goes above $25,000 for a victim’s injuries, you may be required to satisfy the judgment from your personal assets. If you own any large assets, such as an investment account, house, or valuable heirlooms, you may want to consider obtaining more than the minimum amount of coverage, as the court may require that you sell or liquidate these assets in order to satisfy a judgment. Many drivers carry bodily injury liability coverage in the amount of $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident.
Drivers must also carry property damage liability in the amount of at least $25,000. This covers the cost of repairing damage done when you hit another car or structure in an accident. The average cost of a new car is $20,000, but if you are involved in an accident with a more valuable car or cause damage to multiple vehicles, this limit could quickly be exceeded, leaving your personal assets subject to judgment.
Uninsured motorist coverage is included with every policy sold in South Carolina. This coverage will pay your damages if you are hit by a driver who lacks car insurance, or who leaves the scene of the accident. The coverage will at least match the minimum coverage under South Carolina law, or $25,000 per injured person for bodily injuries, $50,000 per accident, and $25,000 in property damage, though drivers will need to pay a $200 deductible for property damage claims.
Optional additional coverage
Underinsured motorist coverage will pay your additional expenses if the at-fault driver carried too little insurance coverage to fully compensate you for your injuries.
Collision coverage will pay for repairs or for the replacement of your vehicle after it is damaged in an accident. Customers will pay less per month for this coverage if they select a higher deductible.
Comprehensive coverage pays for damages to vehicles occurring in a manner other than a collision, such as a flood, vandalism, or collision with an animal. This coverage will also vary in monthly cost based on the size you choose for a deductible. If you are leasing your vehicle, your lender may require that you carry collision and comprehensive coverage in a certain amount.
If you’ve been hurt in a car accident in South Carolina or need assistance with a question on how your car insurance applies, contact the skilled and thorough Spartanburg personal injury attorneys at Anderson , Moore, Bailey & Nowell for a consultation on your case, at 864-641-6431.