Facts About Operating A Vehicle Under The Influence In Spartanburg, SC
Anytime someone is driving under the influence of any kind of intoxicant, drugs, or alcohol then they are driving impaired and it is against the law. Spartanburg and the state of South Carolina are very strict on those who choose to drive while under the influence. In Spartanburg, if someone has a high enough blood alcohol content then they can be automatically charged with driving intoxicated. Here we’ll take a look at facts about operating a vehicle under the influence in Spartanburg, SC.
What Are The Criminal Penalties For DUI In Spartanburg?
The actual penalties that you might suffer will depend on certain facts and circumstances surrounding your particular situation. If you have a BAC that ranges from .05% to .08% and you are observed driving inadequately or you are unable to successfully complete a roadside test then you can be charged with a DUI. If you have a blood alcohol content of .08% or above then you can get charged even if there is no other evidence of being impaired.
If you register a .10% or .16% BAC then your penalties will be even stiffer because of the higher level of intoxication. It is likely that you will have several criminal penalties placed on you. These include fines that range between $400 up to $1,000 and jail time that can range from as little as a couple of days up to three months. You will also likely lose your license for at least 6 months.
All of those criminal penalties can be applied if you are found guilty. This is true even if it is your first offense. If you are found guilty of a 2nd, 3rd, or 4th offense then the penalties can be much more severe. As well as the criminal penalties it will also be required for the driver to enter and complete the Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program.
When they go into this program they will be given an evaluation and then a treatment regimen will be recommended. The individual will be required to complete the recommended treatment. They won’t be able to get their license back until all the penalties have been satisfied and the treatment has been completed.
Can I Refuse To Take A Breathalyzer Or Blood Test?
In Spartanburg and throughout the state of South Carolina there is a statute that states that when you drive in the State there is implied consent. This means that the mere act of driving anywhere in the state means you are consenting to submit to a breathalyzer or blood test. If the officer asked you to do so, then you must or you will automatically lose your license.
If I’ve Been Charged With A DUI Do I Need An Attorney?
It is highly recommended that you get the assistance of an attorney at law that specializes in defending those charged with DUI. It is a serious offense and has major consequences if you’re convicted. Even when it might seem that there is no chance to win a case there are things than an attorney experienced in this type of law knows about that most others don’t. They may be able to get some or all the charges reduced and in some cases, they may even be able to get them throwing out or dismissed.